Intentions for a New Year

So…

I am, as of Sunday, a new rep for ZYIA Active.

When I was in college, I worked at the mall in a clothing store for about a year. Anyone remember County Seat? {Giggle. Snort.} I was always on time, always worked hard, covered shifts for my more shiftless coworkers, but ALWAYS got a gentle “talking to” when stats for sales quotas came in. Thankfully, those other qualities always won out, but I was never a top seller.

It is a gross understatement when I say, I AM NOT a salesperson. I really don’t like the idea of trying to convince anyone that they need something.

That said, I really like these clothes and I really like the gal that turned me on to this stuff. These little sports bras, tanks, leggings, and shorts have played a significant hand in helping me reach some fitness goals that I really thought were a little too lofty when I started out a year ago. I feel supported by Cheryl (the friendly friend, fellow alto, and ZYIA sales rep. that introduced me to all this) and I want to carry that on. I swear, feeling even kinda cute on a morning jog really does something for my speed and stamina. But maybe that’s just me. :o)

So, if you buy off my site, just know that I don’t need you to “support” my new deck/new siding/new kitchen/travel fund. We’re doing better than most of the billions of people in the world. If you want to do something to support someone, I know of a kid in El Salvador that needs your money way more than I do. The only way I’m going to “sell” anything and feel good about it is if I can somehow help you feel inspired to make your life better. I won’t be pressuring you into anything.

I’ll try to keep these short, but, since my site is already active and you can already buy there, I’d like to highlight a couple of my favorite ZYIA things with low price points, throw in a recipe that saves my life nearly every morning in the winter, and maybe add some habits that some of the more trying times in my life have forced me to keep.

I need to preface this by informing you that the photos below really stink. One of my goals will be learning our newer “nice” camera settings and figuring out how to set up the tripod and gorilla grips so that I can take better pictures and give you a better idea. But for now, the priority is learning the company and getting the info. to you. You can always use the shopping link to find the items there too.

I was diagnosed with three auto-immune diseases over seven years ago. It is also suspected that I have Celiac Disease. So, I have to cook and hunt and research a lot. I like to share recipes that help me whenever I can in case someone in my audience is struggling as well. I wish I’d had a few more shortcuts early on.

I try to stay close to a diet called the Auto-Immune Protocol. Please contact me if you want more info. on that, or you can scan this blog for more info. I’ve done quite a bit of writing on it hoping to reach struggling folks. I love to help people get over the initial struggles of new diagnoses and diet. It’s so stinkin’ hard when you’re trying to go it alone. Believe me when I say, if I can help you, I want to. While smoothies are a life-saver in the warmer months, it is very hard for me to enjoy them during a Northern Virginia winter. The following recipe lasts me a good week, even with another member of the family eating it, and covers my breakfasts very neatly.

AIP Apple Crumble

There is a cherry variation as well. I love both but find that I have to change them out periodically. Also note, I like to sub ground flax seed for half of the coconut flour. That’s not necessarily AIP compliant, but I don’t seem to react to that amount and it’s good for a lot of things, including blood sugar and blood pressure.

I’ll try to add more where fitness is concerned in follow on posts. I’d just add here that getting it in early in the day is your best bet, especially if you have munchkins that you’re educating. I try to find time to get in five workouts a week at at least four hours of my week. However, some days that might be as little as 10 minutes of bedtime yoga depending on my schedule. Movement is movement and something is always better than nothing.

ZYIA Bomber Bra/ Black

Probably my favorite ZYIA piece so far is the Bomber Bra. They’re comfortable, supportive, pretty, and true to size. I own quite a few of these, but my most prized Bomber Bra is the one I thought was discontinued (in Jade). I’ve owned my original in white for almost a year now and it is holding up well. I’ve worked out in it quite a lot and it is not yellowing or holding body odor. $31

Twist Tank in Blackberry

Again, apologies for the poor photo quality. The twist tanks are super cute and feature a keyhole in back. However, I really love the way they cover my rear end without touching anything. Coverage is good in front as well. I’m not too many years shy of fifty and coverage in that area is a preference of mine.

Front view: Blackberry Twist Tank

Again, I love the way these hang, especially in front. They’re perfect under a long cardigan in winter and pack down for travel with very few wrinkles on the other end. Mine were stuffed in a highly overpacked L.L. Bean school sized backpack on a recent trip to Texas and they came out nice and smooth from the depths of that bag. $42

Reminder: zero pressure here.

Check out the website if you want to try something. Contact me if you want some of this stuff free or discounted by hosting an online party. It’s a no-brainer for you… almost zero effort except for the shopping part.

And again, please don’t hesistate to contact me concerning the Auto-Immune protocol or exercise ideas that won’t throw your body into adrenal fatigue and extra auto-immune flares. I have a little Facebook page dedicated to that as well that I really need to start posting to again.

Happy New Year Folks!

Adios until next time.

With love,

Jackie

Leave a comment